Posted by Lonn.

1) Introduction of a new poster.
2) Get ready as we kick this blog into high gear.
3) A hint of things to come.

Hello MessengerSays readers,

I wanted to quickly introduce myself.  My name is Lonn and I work on the Windows Live Messenger product management team.  I work here at Microsoft HQ, in Redmond, WA, but am a proud Canadian that grew up in Toronto eating poutine and watching hockey. J   I’ve been a chat/IM enthusiast since I got my first computer (VIC 20), and still remember the days of chatting with sysops with my 1200 baud modem.  Eventually, I joined the world of IRC, wrote a few of my own chat applications and entered the modern day IM world when I was introduced to ICQ. (Who remembers the unforgettable ‘uh-oh’ message notification sound? J )  Shortly thereafter, I discovered Microsoft’s Messenger application, and have never looked back.

Nearly 10 years later, I am a bonafide Windows Live Messenger ‘fanatic’ (as my team has dubbed me) and will be working closely with Aaron, Dharmesh and the rest of the Windows Live Messenger team to kick this blog into high gear.  We will work hard to not only bring you timely information on what’s new and what’s coming, but also to spend time listening to/reading what all of you have to say.

Messenger has been the source of many fun times (changing the personal status message on my friend’s account or messaging their contacts when they forget to log out ;) ) as well as many fond memories (video/voice/chats with my family/friends while I lived abroad).  However, the fact remains that no matter what you are using Windows Live Messenger for, connecting with people is, at the end of the day, what it’s all about.

With over 300 million active users a month, in over 59 markets, and 36 languages, Windows Live Messenger is more than just another piece of software for most of us, it’s a part of our everyday life and a key tool for how we communicate and stay in sync with our friends and family, no matter where they are in the world.

So… Hello, hallo, bonjour, 你好, Hola, こんにちは, olá! … (I added the translator bot Dharmesh wrote about in the last post, and it works great!)

I am looking forward to meeting all of you soon. 

We have some interesting announcements coming up very soon, so stay tuned. :)

Thanks for reading.

Lonn

