posted by Leah

If I told you that " Today is my last day working at Microsoft", I might get so sad I’d start to . And no one wants to see a blogger Cry.  So instead, I’ll make this announcement: "Tomorrow is the first day I join you all as strictly a  Windows Live Messenger Customer."

Me and Microsoft:

I began working at Microsoft  on the MSN (now Windows Live) Messenger team over two years ago, just after college. I’ve worked on a lot of cool stuff here, but my personal favorite project is this very blog.  I’ve been blogging about Windows Live Messenger for about 1.5 years, and it’s been a BLAST. I get to hear about all the cool stuff my peers are working on, and then tell the world. It’s like making a toast at your best friend’s wedding – you tell everyone things things they didn’t know before, and if you tell it right, you might make them laugh. On the flipside, I get to interact with you guys, and help the team learn about your needs. I’m REALLY gonna miss MessengerSays, but Nicole said that one day I can come back and do a guest post!

The funny thing is, I’ve received a lot of credit around here for the wide readership of MessengerSays. But I  know the truth. (shhh) This blog is only as valuable as the dedication of its readers. You all consistently offer feedback, encouragement, and constructive criticism. I owe a big THANK YOU to all of you who have helpped keep MessengerSays ticking.

Fun Facts:

1. Since I joined Microsoft I’ve had three managers,  all of whom are smart, motivated women. What other Computer Scientist can say that? I give Microsoft a big pat on the back for its attempts at a diversified work place. I honestly believe our products our better for it.

2. On the door of our office, Jasmine and I have an emoticon-mood clock:

Our names our written on the hands, and throughout the day we turn them to point at the emoticon that matches our current mood. People now know what to expect when they come to our office. You can see in this picture Jasmine and I are both feeling Gossipy. Don’t make fun of the poor artwork, I’m a software person & a writer person – NOT a painter person.

3. Since working here I’ve won one Microsoft dodgeball championship, and one Microsoft Ulitmate Frisbee championship. Oh, if only there was a companywide Dr. Mario league – i’m SURE i could win that too.

4. I think i’ve become 5 times smarter after worked here.

The Future:

I’m two weeks away from becoming a Californian. I have a ton of friends down there, and I’m going to try out a very different kind of work environment. I’ve had such a blast since I joined Microsoft, but it’s the only job I’ve ever had, I’m just curious to see what else is out there, before settling down into a career. If you want to follow my adventures, you know where to find me

The Cheesy, But True

One of my favorite things about working here, is that I’ve constantly been surrounded by some of the most ***ing brilliant people you’ll ever meet. They’re creative, driven, and passionate about software. Oh jeez, that sounds like a marketing pitch – but I don’t know how else to say it. All I can say is that the people I personally interact with day-to-day are remarkable people. Oh, and they all know how to have a good time. Microsoft, as far as I can tell, is made up of a bunch of genius goof-balls, which has been awesome.  

I will continue to serve Microsoft as a loyal fan, customer, and evangelist of the company and it’s values. It’s a great place, doing great things, and I’m proud to have been a part of it.

If you have a comment/question/concern/discussion topic/rant/rave/other – please head over to the Windows Live Messenger Newsgroup.