Did you know you can view who currently has you on their contact list? This is sometimes useful information if you’ve deleted people on your list you haven’t blocked or perhaps you just want to see if that old flame is still keeping you on their "friends list". Come on … you know you want to know! 😉
So before we get into that … let’s talk about a few concepts:
In order for someone to see your online status, you must "allow" them to see it. You can do this two ways:
- You add someone to your contact list
- You accept someone’s invitation to be added to your list
Once someone is allowed, they can see whenever you’re online or offline. If you later delete that person, they may still continue to see your presence depending on how you delete them.
When you delete a contact, you will be prompted with the below dialog. If you do not check "Also block this contact", they will be removed from your list, but you will still exist in their list AND they can see your online status.
If you do check "also block this contact", you will still be in their list, but you will always appear "offline" to them.
So, let’s say you’ve added and deleted some folks over time and you want to know … who still has me in their contact list? Well, here’s how:
- From the Windows Live Messenger main window, go to Tools>Options
- Select "Privacy" from left panel
- Click "View" button
Once you click the "View button, you will see the below window "Who has you in their contact list?".
If you see someone who is watching you but you don’t want them to see your status, you can go back to the Privacy Options (above) and move them over to "blocked". Once they are blocked, they can still have you on their list, but you will always appear as "offline" to them. And of course, if you change your mind, you can always go back and put them over to "allow".
If you have a comment/question/concern/discussion topic/rant/rave/other – please head over to the Windows Live Messenger Newsgroup.